Philatelic Literature Review, Daniel Vooys, & the APRL

The Philatelic Literature Review (PLR) is the official publication of the American Philatelic Research Library (APRL), but it predates APRL by many years.  In 1942 Daniel W. Vooys organized the Philatelic Library Association, and PLR was the official publication of that organization. Vooys edited PLR from 1942 to 1956 and again from 1963 to 1970. The early issues of PLR are divided into two series, one running from 1942 to 1949 and another from 1950 to 1970. In 1970 the Philatelic Literature Association merged with APRL, and it was at that point that PLR became a publication of the APRL. Charles Peterson was the first editor of PLR under the auspices of APRL. Vooys was instrumental in the founding of APRL and donated most of his personal collection to the library.  In memory of Vooys, the APRL has established the Daniel W. Vooys Fund, and those who contribute $5,000 to the fund become Daniel W. Vooys Fellows.  The 1955 cover above with the Philatelic Literature Association corner card is one of several in my collection. It contained a promotional piece and membership application for the Association.  It read in part: “Membership in the Philatelic Library Association and subscription for the Philatelic Literature Review costs only $1.00 a year.  There are no elaborate rules, no initiation fees, or other obligations of any kind.  Everyone interested in stamp collecting in any way is sure to find the Association helpful in their activities.  There is no better time than NOW to become a member.”  A subscription to the current PLR is $18, but you are still sure to find it helpful in your philatelic activities.